## MINUTES OF THE HERITAGE CONSERVATION COMMITTEE

# $3^{RD}$ MEETING HELD ON $24^{TH}$ DECEMBER 2004 IN THE CONFERENCE ROOM NIRMAN BHAWAN, NEW DELHI

### **PRESENT:**

1. Shri B.S. Lalli

Additional Secretary

M/o Urban Development

Chairman

2. Shri K.T. Gurmukhi

Chief Planner, TCPO

Member

3. Shri S.C. Bhatia

Addl. DG(Arch), CPWD

Member

4. Shri Sanjib Sen Gupta

Chief Architect, NDMC

Member

5. Prof. K.T. Ravindran

Urban Designer, SPA

Member

6. Shri V.K. Bugga

Chie Town Planner, MCD

Member

7. Shri Jasat Pati Joshi

Retd. DG, ASI

Member

Shri M.M. Kanade 8.

SE, ASI

Member

9. Shri Dina Nath

Secretary, DUAC

Member Secretary

### **ALSO PRESENT:**

Shri Amit Das 10.

Jt. Director (Plng), DDA

(On behalf of Commissioner (Plng) DDA)

11. Shri J.B. Kshirsagar

**TCPO** 

12. Shri O.P. Jain

Convener, INTACH

- 13. Shri Sandeep Mehra Railways
- 14. Shri Upendra Malik CDO, CPWD

### Item No.1. (a) Conduct of Business Regulations (b) Guidelines for submission of proposals

It was intimated to the Heritage Conservation Committee that the draft Conduct of Business Regulations and Guidelines for submission of proposals to the Committee were modified on the suggestions made by a Group comprising of the following:-

- 1. Prof. K.T. Ravindran, Urban Designer
- 2. Shri Sanjib Sengupta, Chief Architect, NDMC
- 3. Shri K.T. Gurmukhi, Chief Planner, TCPO
- 4. Shri V.K. Bugga, Chief Town Planner, MCD

The Committee considered the draft documents in detail and suggested certain modifications. It was decided that the modified drafts would be placed before the HCC at its next meeting.

### Item No.2: Review of progress of lists of Heritage Buildings.

As decided in the 2<sup>nd</sup> meeting of the HCC held on 20<sup>th</sup> October 2004 an updated list received from Chief Architect, NDMC relating to list of heritage buildings in NDMC area was placed before the Committee. As regards MCD, Chief Town Planner informed that the list prepared by them was based on the one prepared by INTACH after removing from the list the protected monuments under the jurisdiction of ASI. Meanwhile their zonal heads have been provided with this list and have been asked to get a survey conducted for identifying all the heritage buildings in their respective zones which have been demolished for providing an updated list to the HCC.

The HCC observed that updating is a time consuming process and there is an immediate need for notifying the lists available with the NDMC and MCD in the Official Gazette so that further damage to the existing structures could be prevented. It was decided that MCD would make available the list pertaining to them urgently so that the

next meeting of the HCC for finalizing the list for notification could be convened at the earliest.

### Item No 3: Association of experts.

The Committee was informed that in terms of Clause 23.16 of the Gazette Notification dated 9<sup>th</sup> February 2004, the HCC can co-opt upto three members. Accordingly, at the last meeting itself it has been decided to co-opt Prof. K.T. Ravindran. The Committee desired that the names of conservation experts may be put up at the next meeting for consideration.

(Dina Nath) Member Secretary

### **HERITAGE CONSERVATION COMMITTEE**

C/o Delhi Urban Art Commission India Habitat Centre, Core 6A, Lodhi Road, New Delhi – 110 003.

No.2(1)/2004-HCC December 27, 2004

Copy:

The Chairman and Members of the Heritage Conservation Committee.

IR/DUAC/27/12/04